Princess Of China - deCoded

Once upon a time somebody ran

Somebody ran away saying ‘fast as I can
I got to go, I got to go’

This song, in true pop fashion, is all about a break-up from each side of the couple. Chris Martin sings from his perspective first, describing how he was the one to run away from the relationship.

Once upon a time we fell apart
You’re holding in your hands the two halves of my heart

He laments about how they fell apart: his ex “held both halves of his heart”, meaning she was the one to shatter and control his emotions.

Once upon a time we burned bright
Now all we ever seem to do is fight
On and on, and on and on and on

They used to shine together as a couple: their love was a fire that could not be put out. Until they started fighting, and it wouldn’t stop.

Once upon a time on the same side
Once upon a time on the same side in the same game
Now why d’you have to go
Have to go and throw water on my flame?

They used to be on the same side, supporting each other, but now they are on opposite ends against one another. She “threw water on his flame”, meaning she put out the fire in their relationship that kept them going.

I could have been a princess, you’d be a king
Could have had a castle and worn a ring
But no o-o-o-oh you let me go o-o-o-oh-oh
I could have been a princess, you’d be a king
Could have had a castle and worn a ring
But no-o-o-o-oh you let me go-o-o-o-oh
You stole my star

Now, Rihanna sings from her perspective in the song. Playing the female role of the relationship that went sour, she sings to her lover that ran away from her. To quote Adele, they could have had it all, just like royalty, but their relationship crumbled and her “king” left. He “stole her star”, which is essentially him taking the hope out of their love: she has nothing left to wish on anymore.

‘Cos you really hurt me, no you really hurt me
‘Cos you really hurt me, no you really hurt me
‘Cos you really hurt me, oh-oh you really hurt me,
Oh-ooh-ooh
‘Cos you really hurt me, oh-oh you really hurt me

The two sing bath and forth over each other, claiming how they both hurt each other but not taking responsibility for their actions. It’s a shame their relationship had to go down so dramatically!


Kommentarer
Postat av: william

cool header:D

2012-07-05 @ 14:33:24
URL: http://funnyones.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0