Dear Future Boyfriend/Husband

I will never lie about who you are.

I will never pretend you aren’t my boyfriend.

Not to my parents,

Not to my family,

Not to my co-workers,

Not to my friends.

I won’t call you my “best friend” around my homophobic cousins.

I won’t let my parents call you my “special friend” around my homophobic cousins.

I won’t let my parents call you my “special friend” around my grandmother, who believes homosexuality is an abomination.

I won’t hide in the closet if I have you.

I won’t lie about you when someone asks what we are, regardless of the costs.

Because I value you.

I cherish you.

I don’t want to lose you.

I won’t stop holding your hand in public because it’s not fully accepted.

I won’t not kiss you when we’re out and about just because someone who is homophobic may be watching.

I won’t have other people tell me how I should treat someone I love.

You are worth more to me than all of that.

I won’t ever lead you to believe you are anything but the most important person in my life.

When we get married, even if it’s not legal, I’ll wear a wedding ring and call you my husband.

And everyone will know you’re all mine.

I will have pictures of us on my desk at work,

And on my phone,

And in my wallet.

Because I want them to see what we have.

I will not let homophobia dictate anything about our relationship.

Because I love you.

And I am proud of loving you.



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0